The wRenegade’s Ramblings: Most Anticipated Games for August 2017

So like a lot of people, I tend to rely on the internet. For the past month I have had none and believe me it has been difficult. Once my connection had been established the first thing I did was hook up my PlayStation and browse the library to see what will be released soon. Some of the games that are coming out look incredible and I cannot wait. Here is a small selection of my most anticipated games that will be released in August:

1. Telltale’s Batman: The Enemy Within (Released 8th August)

This excites me so much. A few weeks back I did an article on my favourite Telltale games, so it’s always going to please me when I see a new game is going to be released by them. What makes this even better for me is that this is the second Batman game they would have released. The first game was brilliant and this looks like its shaping up to be just as good. The game introduces the Riddler for the first time, which is awesome. We will also be treated to more of the Joker. The first game had a unique take on the whole Batman story so I really hope this one will be just as good with many twists and turns along the way. The only downside to a Telltale game is you will get the first episode upon release but then the other 4 episodes will be released in due course, so this game may involve waiting awhile.
2. The Escapists 2 (Released 22nd August)
I had a great time playing the first game (and still do from time to time) and this one looks to be a similar concept but with extras. If you haven’t already played the first one then let me enlighten you. The Escapists is set in a prison and you are one of the inmates. The whole point of the game is to escape. Each level is a different prison and each get harder as the game progresses. I spent a lot of my time in the game clogging the toilets and getting other inmates in trouble with the guards if am honest but its a great puzzle game regardless of that. There wasn’t always a set route either. You could in fact escape in various ways. I remember I spent ages on the first level thinking of the best possible way to escape. Create a hole in my cell wall, hide my stash behind it, cover it with a picture so nobody would know, steal guards uniform, crawl through the vents, dig holes in the yard and eventually get the hole to come out on the other side of the fence etc etc. This took me hours of prepping, working out their routines and I loved it. My partner on the other hand put snooker balls in a sock, beat up the guards and literally walked out the front door. I think she played the level for about 2 minutes. I learnt not to overthink it and stop pretending it had to be as in depth as Prison Break.
3. Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice (Released 8th August)
This looks incredible. When I first saw the trailer I thought it was a mixture between Horizon Zero Dawn and The Witcher 3. This game is set in a Viking age where the main character is on a quest to Viking hell to fight for the soul of her dead lover. The game was created by the same people that made enslaved so I know this game is going to be great. I am always a fan of Celtic and Norse mythology so lets hope we get an incredible story to go along with this game.
4. Last Day Of June (Released 31st August)
Now this one I know very little about but what I do know is that this looks like its going to send you an emotional roller coaster. In the trailer you see a young man and woman enjoying each others company beside a lake , its bright and colourful and appears to be a nice day. The next scene is of just the man staring at an empty chair and the lighting has changed to more darker, miserable setting . The description of the game intrigues me as well. It states about unlocking a sequence of events that could save the day and Junes life. I am wondering if there will be multiple endings with this or not. What I can say for sure is the way it looks and the description of it is more than enough for me to end up getting this to find out more.
5. Agents Of Mayhem (Released 18th August)
Whats better than another Saints Row game? How about a spin off of a Saints Row game. That’s exactly what we have here and this has been on my radar for a while. I think we are certainly due a new game from the series and this one is looking to be a good one. This game is set after the “recreate earth” ending from Gat out of Hell so is set at least in the same universe as the others. It looks to be a battle between the bad guys and evil villains which seems very interesting. All I know is that it will be a lot of fun to play with a variety of strange and amusing weapons and a great story. I for one cant wait to play it.
And there we have it. Those are the games I am looking forward mostly to being released this month , lets hope they do me well. Lets hear from you though. Do any of these please you? Any you’re not bothered about? Is there any I have missed that you’re excited about? Let me know in the comments below, I would love to hear from you. Thanks for reading and see you next time my friends.
The wRenegade
Team Venom Media
Leave a Reply

